Hello! You are viewing your 1 free guest article this week

Please log in or join now for free, immediate and unlimited access to our award-winning online content. Find out more...

Join us
Already a member? Log in here

Travel industry news

14 Sep 2016

BY Sophie Griffiths


The women honoured at the AWTE Chair Awards

The Association of Women Travel Executives Chair Awards were held last night, honouring a number of familiar faces in the industry.


The women honoured at the AWTE Chair Awards

Lindsay Garvey-Jones, national partnerships manager at Holiday Extras was presented with the Honorary Award, after she received several nominations to say how much she supports others in the industry.

Kirsty Sando, interim service manager at Heathrow Express was honoured with the Business Impact Award, which celebrated innovation in business.


Debbie Flynn, chief executive of the Brighter Group was presented with the Company Award, which is designed to celebrate a business’ commitment to gender equality by encouraging female staff to have the opportunity to reach their potential.

In addition five women were inducted into the AWTE’s “influential women in travel, tourism and hospitality honours list”. These included: Sarah Johnson, Lotus; Simone Buckley, ITM; Lorraine Barnes Burton, BTA; Carol Dray, Visit Britain and Deidre Wells, UK Inbound.

Meanwhile the night also included the presentation of the first AWTE Benevolent Fund, which was awarded to Sandra Bruce from Sandy Beach International. She was given £1,000, to be spent on helping her career progression.


A further two grants of £500 were each also presented to Jane Stuart Palikira, Ionian Weddings and Claire Riches from Travelwaves as an AWTE Benevolent Enterprise Gift.


Debbee Dale, chair of AWTE said, “Every year we are bowled over by the standard of entries for the Chair Awards. This year’s shortlist made the job of choosing a winner extremely challenging, as all of the women on the list are raising the bar in their respective fields within travel and tourism. I would like to congratulate both the women who were shortlisted as well as those that went on to win the awards.


“Looking at the Honours List we are also delighted to welcome these five inspirational women to this very special group of inspirational women in the travel industry. They will now go on to nominate five up and coming women from the travel industry who will be given a free, membership to the AWTE.”

Add New Comment
Please sign in to comment.
Show me more

Follow Us

TTG Media Limited.
Place of registration: England and Wales.
Company number 08723341.
Registered address: New Bridge Street House, 30-34 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6BJ
Scroll To Top